ELSNET-List Message

ELSNET-List Message

Subject: [ E-CFP ] 2nd CFP: ACL 2013 Second Workshop on Hybrid Approaches to Translation (HyTra)
From: <martaruizcostajussa_(on)_gmail.com>
Date received: 20 Mar 2013
Deadline: 30 Apr 2013
Start date: 08 Aug 2013

Apologies for multiple postings Please distribute to colleagues


Second Workshop on Hybrid Approaches to Translation (HyTra)

Co-located with ACL 2013 Sofia, Bulgaria August 8, 2013 Deadline
for paper submissions: April 30, 2013

Invited Speakers

Will Lewis and Chris Quirk (Microsoft Research) Hermann Ney
(Aachen University)


Workshop Description

The Second Workshop on Hybrid Approaches to Translation (HyTra)
intends to further progress on the findings from the first
edition which was held (together with the ESIRMT workshop) as a
joint 2-day EACL 2012 workshop.

The aim of the HyTra workshop is to bring together and share
ideas among researchers developing statistical, example-based, or
rule-based translation systems and those who enhance MT systems
with elements from the other approaches. Hereby one relevant
focus will be on effectively combining linguistic and data driven
approaches (rule-based and statistical MT). Another focus will be
on hybridization in the context of human translation.

We solicit contributions including but not limited to the
following topics:

*ways and techniques of hybridization *architectures for the
rapid development of hybrid MT systems *applications of hybrid
systems *hybrid systems dealing with under-resourced languages
*hybrid systems dealing with morphologically rich languages
*using linguistic information (morphology, syntax, semantics) to
enhance statistical MT (e.g. with hierarchical or factored
models) *using contextual information to enhance statistical MT
*bootstrapping rule-based systems from corpora *hybrid methods in
spoken language translation *extraction of dictionaries and other
large-scale resources for MT from parallel and comparable corpora
*induction of morphological, grammatical, and translation rules
from corpora *machine learning techniques for hybrid MT
*describing structural mappings between languages (e.g.
tree-structures using synchronous/transduction grammars)
*heuristics for limiting the search space in hybrid MT
*alternative methods for the fair evaluation of the output of
different types of MT systems (e.g. relying on linguistic
criteria) *system combination approaches such as multi-engine MT
(parallel) or automatic post-editing (sequential) *open source
tools and free language resources for hybrid MT

Contributions can be short or long papers. Short paper submission
must describe original and unpublished work without exceeding
five pages of content plus one extra page for references.
Characteristics of short papers include: a small, focused
contribution; work in progress; a negative result; an opinion
piece; an interesting application nugget. Long paper submissions
must describe substantial, original, completed and unpublished
work without exceeding eight pages of content plus two extra
pages for references. Submissions will be judged according to the
criteria of the main conference (of ACL 2013).

Submission Instructions

Authors are invited to submit papers on original and previously
unpublished work. Formatting should be according to ACL 2013
specifications using LaTeX or MS-Word style files, see
http://acl2013.org/site/call.html. Reviewing of papers will be
double-blind, so the submissions should not reveal the authors'

Submission is electronic in PDF format using the START submission
system at (URL to be announced in subsequent versions of this

Double submission policy: Parallel submission to other meetings
or publications are possible but must be immediately notified to
the workshop contact person (see below).

For an accepted paper to appear in the proceedings, at least one
author must register for the workshop and actually present the
paper. The papers will be published in the electronic workshop
proceedings. These will be part of the ACL proceedings, published
by ACL. They will also be made available online via the ACL

Important Dates

April 30, 2013: Paper submissions due May 24, 2013: Notification
of acceptance Jun 7, 2013: Camera ready papers due August 8,
2013: Workshop in Sofia


Marta R. Costa-jussà (Institute for Infocomm Research). Reinhard
Rapp (Universities of Aix-Marseille and Mainz), Patrik Lambert
(Barcelona Media Innovation Center), Rafael E. Banchs (Institute
for Infocomm Research), Bogdan Babych (University of Leeds) Kurt
Eberle (Lingenio GmbH)

Contact person

Marta R. Costa-jussà (martaruizcostajussa_(at)_gmail.com)

Invited Speakers

Will Lewis and Chris Quirk (Microsoft Research) Hermann Ney
(Aachen University)

Programme Committee

Alexey Baytin, Yandex, Moscow, Russia Núria Bel, Universitat
Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain Pierrette Bouillon, ISSCO/TIM/ETI,
University of Geneva, Switzerland Michael Carl, Copenhagen
Business School, Denmark Marine Carpuat, National Research
Council, Canada Josep Maria Crego, Systran, Paris, France Oliver
Culo, University of Mainz, Germany Andreas Eisele, DGT (European
Commission), Luxembourg Marcello Federico, Fondazione Bruno
Kessler, Trento, Italy Christian Federmann, Language Technology
Lab, DFKI, Saarbrücken, Germany Alexander Fraser, University of
Stuttgart, Germany José A. R. Fonollosa, Universitat Politècnica
de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain Tony Hartley, Toyohashi University
of Technology, Japan, and University of Leeds, UK Maxim Khalilov,
TAUS, Amsterdam, The Netherlands Philipp Koehn, University of
Edimburgh, UK Kevin Knight, University of Southern Carlifornia,
US Udo Kruschwitz, University of Essex, UK Yanjun Ma, Baidu Inc.,
Beijing, China José B. Mariño, Universitat Politècnica de
Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain Bart Mellebeek, University of
Amsterdam, The Netherlands Maite Melero, Barcelona Media
Innovation Center, Barcelona, Spain Haizhou Li, Institute for
Infocomm Research, Singapore Chris Quirk, Microsoft Research,
Seattle, USA Paul Schmidt, Institute for Applied Information
Science, Saarbrücken, Germany Anders Sogaard, University of
Copenhagen, Denmark Uta Seewald-Heeg, Anhalt University of
Applied Sciences, Köthen, Germany Nasredine Semmar, CEA LIST,
Fontenay-aux-Roses, France Wade Shen, Massachusetts Institute of
Technology, Cambridge, USA Serge Sharoff, University of Leeds, UK
George Tambouratzis, Institute for Language and Speech
Processing, Athens, Greece. Jörg Tiedemann, University of
Uppsala, Sweden Dekai Wu, The Hong Kong University of Science and
Technology, Hong Kong, China

- ELSNET mailing list Elsnet-list_(at)_elsnet.org
- To manage your subscription go to:


[ Search | Events calendar | Deadline calendar ]


Page generated 21-05-2018 by Steven Krauwer Disclaimer / Contact ELSNET