ELSNET-list archive

Category:   E-CFP
Subject:   LICS 2002 Call for Papers
From:   Martin Grohe (LICS Publicity Chair)
Email:   grmail_(on)_dcs.ed.ac.uk
Date received:   14 Dec 2001
Deadline:   15 Jan 2002
Start date:   22 Jul 2002

Seventeenth Annual IEEE Symposium on LOGIC IN COMPUTER SCIENCE July 22nd - 25th, 2002, Copenhagen, Denmark http://www.lfcs.informatics.ed. ac.uk/lics CALL FOR PAPERS The LICS Symposium is an annual international forum on theoretical and practical topics in computer science that relate to logic in a broad sense. LICS 2002 will be part of the 2002 Federated Logic Conference (FLoC 2002), to be held in Copenhagen, Denmark, July 20th - August 1st, 2002. Suggested, but not exclusive, topics of interest for submissions include: automata theory, automated deduction, categorical models and logics, concurrency and distributed computation, constraint programming, constructive mathematics, database theory, domain theory, finite model theory, formal aspects of program analysis, formal methods, hybrid systems, lambda and combinatory calculi, linear logic, logical aspects of computational complexity, logics in artificial intelligence, logics of programs, logic programming, modal and temporal logics, model checking, programming language semantics, reasoning about security, rewriting, specifications, type systems and type theory, and verification. Paper submission will be electronic. The deadline for submissions is: January 15th, 2002. This deadline is firm; late submissions will not be considered. The URL for electronic paper submission is: http://lics02.lfcs.informatics.ed .ac.uk. Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by March 22nd, 2002; accepted papers in a specified format for the proceedings will be due by May 1st, 2002. The first page of the extended abstract should include the title of the paper, names and affiliations of authors, a brief synopsis, and the contact author's name, address, phone number, fax number, and email address. The extended abstract may not exceed 5000 words, excluding bibliography and figures. It must be in English and provide sufficient detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits of the paper. It should begin with a succinct statement of the issues, a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their significance and relevance to the conference, all phrased for the non-specialist. Technical development directed to the specialist should follow. If a result is surprising, then the subtleties should be explained. (If necessary, details can be included in a clearly-labelled appendix or there can be a pointer to a manuscript on a web site.) References and comparisons with related work should be included. Submissions departing significantly from these guidelines risk rejection. The results must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere, including the proceedings of other symposia or workshops. The PC chair should be informed of closely related work submitted to a conference or journal between January 15th, 2002 and March 22nd, 2002. All authors of accepted papers will be expected to sign copyright release forms. One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present it at the conference. LICS 2002 will have a session of short (5-10 minutes) presentations. This session is intended for descriptions of work in progress, student projects, and relevant research being published elsewhere; other brief communications may be acceptable. Submissions for these presentations, in the form of short abstracts (1 or 2 pages long), should be entered at the LICS submission site between March 25th and March 29th, 2002. Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by April 12th, 2002 The symposium is sponsored by the IEEE Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing in cooperation with the Association for Symbolic Logic, and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science. Kleene Award for Best Student Paper: An award in honor of the late S.C. Kleene will be given for the best student paper, as judged by the program committee. For a paper to be eligible the research presented must have been carried out while at least one of the authors was a full-time student. Multiple-authored papers are permitted. The exact circumstances, including allocation of credit, should be detailed in the submission letter, SIGNED BY ALL AUTHORS. The program committee may decline to make the award or may split it among several papers. Invited Speakers: The following distinguished speakers have agreed to give invited talks at LICS 2002: Stephen Cook (University of Toronto), Georg Gottlob (TU Wien), John Reynolds (Carnegie Mellon), Natarajan Shankar (SRI). Maurizio Lenzerini (Universita di Roma "La Sapienza") will give an invited tutorial on Description Logics. Collocated events: The following conferences are collocated with LICS at FLoC 2002: CADE, CAV, FME, ICLP, RTA, TABLEAUX; see http://floc02.diku.dk/ for details. There will also be many workshops sponsored by the FLoC conferences. For the LICS ones, see http://www.lfcs.informatics.ed. ac.uk/lics for details as they are announced. Program Chair: Gordon Plotkin Division of Informatics The University of Edinburgh James Clerk Maxwell Building Mayfield Road Edinburgh EH9 3JZ United Kingdom Email: gdp_(on)_dcs.ed.ac.uk Phone: + 44 131 650 5158 Fax: + 44 131 667 7209 Program Committee: Marco Cadoli, Universita di Roma "La Sapienza" Vincent Danos, CNRS, Universite Paris VII Anuj Dawar, University of Cambridge Rocco De Nicola, Universita degli Studi di Firenze Harald Ganzinger, Max-Planck-Institut fuer Informatik Orna Grumberg, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology Robert Harper, Carnegie Mellon University Furio Honsell, University of Udine Phokion Kolaitis, University of California at Santa Cruz Johann Makowski, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology Oded Maler, CNRS-Verimag Yoram Moses, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology Robert Nieuwenhuis, Technical University of Catalonia (UPC) Peter O'Hearn, Queen Mary & Westfield College, University of London Doron A. Peled, Bell Laboratories Benjamin C. Pierce, University of Pennsylvania Andrew Pitts, University of Cambridge Gordon Plotkin (chair), University of Edinburgh Andreas Podelski, Max-Planck-Institut fuer Informatik Andre Scedrov, University of Pennsylvania Peter Thiemann, Universitaet Freiburg Andrei Voronkov, University of Manchester Local Arrangements Chair: Ulrich Kohlenbach Department of Computer Science, BRICS University of Aarhus Ny Munkegade, Building 540 DK-8000 Aarhus C Denmark Email: kohlenb_(on)_brics.dk Publicity Chair: Martin Grohe Division of Informatics The University of Edinburgh James Clerk Maxwell Building Mayfield Road Edinburgh EH9 3JZ United Kingdom Email: grohe_(on)_dcs.ed.ac.uk General Chair: Samson Abramsky Oxford University Computing Laboratory Wolfson Building Parks Road Oxford, OX1 3QD England Email: Samson.Abramsky_(on)_comlab.ox.ac.uk Organizing Committee: M. Abadi, S. Abramsky (chair), A. Aggarwal, M. Bezem, E. Clarke, R. Constable, N. Dershowitz, J. Diaz, H. Ganzinger, F. Giunchiglia, M. Grohe, J. Halpern, D. Leivant, L. Libkin, G. Longo, D. A. Martin, J. Mitchell, E. Moggi, V. Pratt, S. Ronchi della Rocca, J. Tiuryn, M.Y. Vardi, J. Vitter, G. Winskel. Advisory Board: M. Abadi, S. Abiteboul, S. Abramsky, M. Dezani, J. Halpern, R. Impagliazzo, D. Kozen, L. Pacholski, A. Scedrov, D. Scott, J. Wing.

[print/pda] [no frame] [navigation table] [navigation frame]     Page generated 14-02-2008 by Steven Krauwer Disclaimer / Contact ELSNET