ELSNET-list archive

Category:   E-Announce
Subject:   European Masters Program in Language and Communication Technologies (LCT)
From:   Valia Kordoni
Email:   kordoni_(on)_CoLi.Uni-SB.DE
Date received:   03 Feb 2006
Deadline:   15 Feb 2006

European Masters Program in Language and Communication Technologies (LCT) The following consortium of Universities 1. Saarland University in Saarbruecken, Germany (coordinator) 2. University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands 3. Free University of Bozen - Bolzano, Italy 4. Copenhagen Business School, Denmark 5. University of Malta (UoM; the program at UoM is available from 2006/2007) 6. University Henri Poincare, Nancy 1, France 7. University of Nancy 2, France 8. Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic 9. Roskilde University, Denmark 10. Utrecht University, The Netherlands 11. University of Groningen, The Netherlands are offering the European Masters Program in Language and Communication Technologies (LCT). The European Masters Program in Language and Communication Technologies is an international distributed Master of Science course. This program is entirely composed of elements from already existing M.Sc./MA programs. It involves studying one year at one of the aforementioned Universities, and completing the second year with a stay in the other partner Universities. After this, the student will obtain two Master of Science degrees with legal value in the countries of issue. The Program in brief: Objectives: The European Masters Program in LCT is designed to meet the demands of industry and research in a rapidly growing area. It offers education and training opportunities for the next generations of leaders in research and innovation. It provides students with profound knowledge and insight into the various disciplines that contribute to the methods of language and communication technologies and it strengthens their ability to work according to scientific methods. Moreover, the students acquire practice-oriented knowledge by choosing appropriate combinations of modules in Language Technology, Computational and Theoretical Linguistics, and Computer Science. Duration: 2 years (120 ECTS credits) Language of instruction: English Summary of Study Program: The course consists of Compulsory Modules and Advanced Modules in Language Technology and Computer Science, complemented by a Project, and a Masters thesis. APPLICATION DEADLINES: First Pre-enrolment: 15th of February 2006 Study Requirements: Applicants must satisfy the following study requirements: 1. a Bachelor degree or equivalent in the area of (Computational) Linguistics, Language Technology, Cognitive Sciences, Computer Science, Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, or other relevant disciplines 2. Proficiency in English (for non-native speakers) must be certified by one of the following: a. TOEFL score of at least 250 (computer-based test) or 575 (paper-based test). b. Cambridge Proficiency Exam -- pass. c. IELTS -- > 6.5. d. Possession of a first degree taught in English. e. As defined by the individual partner institutions as being sufficient for pursuit of university courses taught in English. For detailed info on applications, please, check the web pages: http://lct-master.org (For applying at Free University of Bozen - Bolzano, please, go to http://www.inf.unibz.it/mcs/lct/application.php) For further information please contact: Dr. Valia Kordoni at kordoni_(on)_coli.uni-sb.de Program coordinators: Prof. Hans Uszkoreit (hansu_(on)_coli.uni-sb.de) Dr. Valia Kordoni (kordoni_(on)_coli.uni-sb.de) Further contacts: University of Amsterdam: Dr. Henk Zeevat (henk.zeevat_(on)_uva.nl) Free University of Bozen - Bolzano: Dr. Raffaella Bernardi (bernardi_(on)_inf.unibz.it) Copenhagen Business School: Prof. Sabine Kirchmeier-Andersen (ska.id_(on)_cbs.dk) University of Malta: Prof. Michael Rosner (mike.rosner_(on)_um.edu.mt) University Henri Poincare, Nancy 1: Dr. Patrick Blackburn (patrick_(on)_aplog.org) University of Nancy 2: Professor Guy Perrier (perrier_(on)_loria.fr) Charles University in Prague: Dr. Vladislav Kubon (vk_(on)_ufal.ms.mff.cuni.cz) Roskilde University: Prof. Troels Andreasen (troels_(on)_ruc.dk) Utrecht University: Dr. Maaike Schoorlemmer (UiLOTS_(on)_let.uu.nl) University of Groningen: Dr. Markus Egg (egg_(on)_let.rug.nl) _______________________________________________ Elsnet-list mailing list Elsnet-list_(on)_elsnet.org http://mailman.elsnet.org/mailman/listinfo/elsnet-list

[print/pda] [no frame] [navigation table] [navigation frame]     Page generated 14-02-2008 by Steven Krauwer Disclaimer / Contact ELSNET