ELSNET-list archive

Category:   E-CFP
Subject:   Pacling-2007: Second Call for Papers
From:   Timothy Baldwin
Email:   tim_(on)_csse.unimelb.edu.au
Date received:   22 Mar 2007
Deadline:   23 Apr 2007
Start date:   19 Sep 2007

# Apologies for cross-postings SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS Pacling-2007 Conference of the Pacific Association for Computational Linguistics University of Melbourne Australia September 19-21, 2007 <http://mandrake.csse.unimelb.edu.au/pacling2007/> * NEWS - submission deadline extended to Apr 23, 2007 - three invited speakers confirmed - submissions now open * SCHEDULE Submission deadline: Apr 23, 2007 *EXTENDED* Notification of acceptance: Jun 15, 2007 Camera-ready copy due: Jul 22, 2007 Conference dates: Sep 19--21, 2007 * AIMS Pacling 2007 is a high-quality, workshop-style conference whose aim is to promote friendly scientific interaction relating to computational linguistics among Pacific Rim countries. The emphasis of the conference is on interdisciplinary scientific exchange demonstrating openness towards high-quality research falling outside current dominant schools of thought, and on technological transfer within the Pacific region. The conference represents a unique forum for scientific and technological exchange, being smaller than ACL and COLING, and more regional with extensive representation from the Pacific region. * THEME AND INVITED SPEAKERS In addition to general computational linguistics, Pacling-2007 will have a major theme: Deep processing: Abstracting away from the surface We are delighted to announce that three invited speakers will address this theme: * Ann Copestake (University of Cambridge, UK) * Robert Dale (Macquarie University, Australia) * Yuji Matsumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan) * TOPICS Submissions relevant to the theme of deep processing are encouraged. However, substantial, original, and unpublished research is welcome on any topic in computational linguistics, including, but not limited to, the following: * Phonology and Phonetics * Morphology and Morphological Analysis * Syntax and Syntactic Analysis * Semantics and Semantic Analysis * Pragmatics and Discourse Analysis * Spoken Language and Dialogue * Corpora and Corpus-based Language Processing * Text and Message Understanding * Text and Message Generation * Machine Translation * Text Summarization * Information Extraction * Information Retrieval and Question-Answering * Language Learning * Natural Language Interfaces * Electronic Dictionaries, Thesauri and Ontologies * SUBMISSION OF PAPERS Authors should prepare anonymous submissions, in English, of up to 8 pages including references. Guidelines and style sheets (based on the ACL styles) are available at the web site: http://mandrake.csse.unimelb.edu.au/pacling2007/ Papers that are being submitted to other conferences, whether verbatim or in essence must declare this fact. If a paper appears at another conference, it must be withdrawn from Pacling-2007. Papers that violate these requirements are subject to rejection without review. All papers will be submitted electronically in PDF format, through a web-based submission system available at: http://www.softconf.com/start/pacling07/ * ORGANIZATION President: Shun Ishizaki (Keio University, Japan) Programme Chair: Francis Bond (NICT, Japan) Local Chairs: Timothy Baldwin (University of Melbourne, Australia) David Martinez (University of Melbourne, Australia) Programme Committee Members --------------------------- Emily Bender (University of Washington, USA) Steven Bird (University of Melbourne, Australia) Sandra Carberry (University of Delaware, USA) Lawrence Cavedon (NICTA, Australia) Nick Cercone (York University, Canada) Robert Dale (Macquarie University, Australia) Tsutomu Endo (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan) Graeme Hirst (University of Toronto, Canada) Satoru Ikehara (Tottori University, Japan) Kentaro Inui (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan) Pierre Isabelle (University of Quebec, Canada) Shun Ishizaki (Keio University, Japan) Daisuke Kawahara (NICT, Japan) Ali Knott (University of Otago, New Zealand) Kiyoshi Kogure (ATR, Japan) Rob Malouf (San Diego State University, USA) Yuval Marom (Monash University, Australia) Hiroshi Masuichi (Fuji Xerox, Japan) Paul McFetridge (Simon Fraser University, Canada) Robert Mercer (University of Western Ontario, Canada) Diego Molla (Macquarie University, Australia) Hiromi Nakaiwa (NTT Corp., Japan) Shigeko Nariyama (University of Melbourne, Australia) Hwee-Tou Ng (National University of Singapore, Singapore) Yoshihiko Nitta (Nihon University, Japan) Cecile Paris (CSIRO, Australia) David Powers (Flinders University, Australia) Hiroshi Sakaki (Meisei University, Japan) Virach Sornlertlamvanich (NICT, Thailand) Nicola Stokes (NICTA, Australia) Thepchai Supnithi (NECTEC, Thailand) Hisami Suzuki (Microsoft Research, USA) Kumiko TANAKA-Ishii (University of Tokyo, Japan) Enya-Kong Tan (Penang University, Malaysia) _______________________________________________ Elsnet-list mailing list Elsnet-list_(on)_elsnet.org http://mailman.elsnet.org/mailman/listinfo/elsnet-list

[print/pda] [no frame] [navigation table] [navigation frame]     Page generated 14-02-2008 by Steven Krauwer Disclaimer / Contact ELSNET